Run Disy Run

UPDATE:

I DID IT. I achieved my goal of running for more than 3km (before I walked a little way).

I DID IT

Feel a  bit silly for all my whingeing in the lead up to it.   Bit sore today as expected but determined to keep up the running. Maybe I don’t hate running with a passion anymore..

Lets face it I am still on some sort of high. Tomorrow I will start another 101 excuses why I can’t run!

BACKGROUND

A huge challenge for me is a 5km run.

I am unfit, overweight and have never been an endurance runner.

So I set myself a short-term goal a few weeks ago and entered in a 5km run. August was going to be my ‘get fit’ month. This Sunday is RUN DAY.

My preparation has consisted of 2-3km courses. I can’t jog the whole way and walk part of it. I have managed to do this 5 times and found excuses to not do it another 10 times. I told myself I would get up at 5am and go for a run – I have not done this ONCE.

Well the weather forecast is good for Sunday (damn it!). I am summing up the determination to get through 5km and jog the furthest I have so far.

Its 50:50 whether I more determined to find an excuse to not do it, or to get through it.

Please think of me on Sunday.

This entry was posted in Excercise. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Run Disy Run

  1. Shelly says:

    Don’t think about the 10 times you didn’t get out there, think about the 5 times you did! That’s five more than a lot of us. I have it on my list to do a 5K run also, but my focus is on getting through my exam on Wednesday, then I can think/do something about getting fit.

    Good on you for seeing it through.

    Thanks for adding Tropical Mum to your blogroll, much appreciated.

    • disydoit says:

      Thanks Shelly – you are so right. I was annoyed because I do not like committing to things that overwhelm me – one of my principles as a working mum. Good luck in your exam. I can’t guarantee you will get much benefit from being on my blogroll, but thank you also for your support so far 🙂

  2. Congratulations Disy! Setting a goal and achieving it is such a rewarding experience. Hope you don’t feel too sore today 🙂 .

  3. Jasmine says:

    Well done! I keep thinking I’d love to do something like this but I just don’t have anyone to look after my boy for training. :/

    • disydoit says:

      ahhh before you know it he will be running with you! There were lots of kids on Sunday. As I work full time I am trying to take advantage of my lunch hour but find it hard in the precious time I am with my boys.

  4. Marthese says:

    Well done….I need to get back on track…you are inspiring me..

  5. Wow, congratulations! That is quite an achievement. I’ve never done anything like that. I’m pretty sure I would collapse. Good for you for seeing it through. It must feel good to have set a goal and achieved it.

    • disydoit says:

      I was a bit stressed trying to find a pen before the start so I could write emergency contact details on the back of the bib I wore in case I collapsed! It is very unusual that I set goals and achieve them ;).

  6. Becky says:

    Congratulations, what an awesome job!

  7. katepickle says:

    I am so impressed!
    I am totally you… I hate running, I am over weight, un fit and oh I hate running… except that I have a secret wish to be able to run. The idea of going out for a jog and actually enjoying it sounds lovely to me…. and you give me hope!!

    Way to go!

Leave a Reply

